Calling all tall guys...help an ectomorph out!

DaveWalton

Awards
I've been working out for about 5 years now...the past year and a half seriously.

I realize that as a tall guy/lanky ectomorph I need to be taking in loads of calories, complex carbs, protein etc...but I haven't been able to find an effective workout program.

I've tried 5x5 training and other workouts...I had pretty good success with GVT (just finished).

ANYWAYS:

Can anyone suggest a good workout aimed at gaining mass for a tall lanky ectomorph?

Thank you

P.S. I have definitely done my research, but I can't seem to find a program that specifically says it will benefit someone with my body type and the few guys at the gym I have asked are mesomorphs who gain pretty easily and had no real suggestions for me.

suncloud

suncloud

Awards
  • Established
i'm not tall by any means, but i am an ecto. in MY experience (and we all gain different) supersets really helped me out a lot. until i started doing 3-4 sets of 8-10 with no real breaks i didn't gain. i think as ecto's our bodies become catabolic very easily - mine i definately noticed at the 40-45 min marker. also, there are certain proven mass gainers that i had to incorporate into every workout which i will list. also, what helped me out the MOST, was string cheese. yes, in addition to regular 4-5 meals, i did one piece of string cheese every hour. they're not really filling, but 100 extra calories an hour x 15 hours = 1500 calories a day that NEVER FILLS YOU UP and keeps you growing. diet is the key to gaining weight, and again, we've got the body type that we have to do everything right to gain one measly pound. thats my 2 cents. oh, best mass gainers:

back - pull ups
back - deadlifts
chest - bench
shoulders - military press
triceps - dips (weighted if needed)
triceps - close grip bench
biceps - barbell curls
biceps - chin ups (weighted if needed)
legs - squats
legs - the sled (a.k.a. leg extension