Basement training to gym Am i overtraining HELP

poacher

Awards
  • Established
Yup I'm the new old guy and could really use some help. Been training in my basement for a bout a year now. Good bench olympic bar 500 lbs of weight and dumbells to 75 and lat machine. Okay, my wife joins a health club about 3 weeks ago. Family membership cause the have a great pool and my young son loves swimming thier. The have a great weight room. So I started training their in the mornings. Here is the odd thing. I am getting weeker. This is how my first workout went. Bench. woked up tp 315 for 2 335 for a single 275 for reps. The I did inclines for the first time in over 10 years. I tried 225 and figured It would be heavy. Well I did 7 and stopped cause it felt like a feather. Then did 245 for 5 and 255 for 3. Then did flys 90's for 10 then 8. Now a couple weeks later 295 on the bench for 2 feels hard 225 on the incline for 3 sets of 5 is hard. Does this seem like overtraining or is my body just needing time to adapt to the new work load. I do chest shoulders triceps. Can list shoulder and tri workout if that would help. thanks, poacher.

datBtrue

datBtrue

Awards
  • Established
... Now a couple weeks later 295 on the bench for 2 feels hard 225 on the incline for 3 sets of 5 is hard. Does this seem like overtraining or is my body just needing time to adapt to the new work load. I do chest shoulders triceps....
What variables have changed?

If you were using creatine but now you are not you can be weaker. If you were using a strong stimulant or even something like Citruline Malate but now you are not you can be weaker. If you were using an anabolic before but now you are not you can be weaker.

Has your diet changed or the timing of your pre-workout meal? Calories? Carbs? What nutrients were you using during your workout & what are you using now?

Is your rotator cuff strained? Do you do rotator cuff work?