Shiny Umbreon's Smolov Attempt

Hajiroku

Hajiroku

Awards
  • Established
I was growing rather bored with my powerlifting routine and I decided to attempt the Smolov Routine. I know this isn't something one haphazardly picks up out of boredom, but I wanted a challenge.

Last time I checked my stats were
Body Weight: 160 (checked this morning)
Low Bar Squat: 405 Paused.
Bench: 230 Paused
Conventional Deadlift: 440
Overhead Press: 170

As a smaller guy I don't expect a huge increase in my squat by doing Smolov. I honestly just want to see how far I can get.

Anyways, I decided to attempt Smolov Squat and Bench. I know I'll get flamed for that last sentence I wrote, but my recovery is fairly fast. If I find that I can't keep up with both I'll gladly drop Smolov bench in favor of Smolov Squat. Furthermore, since it's my first time attempting this I used 405 (squat) and 225 (bench) as the base for the routine. Many people suggested going slightly lower than the last 1RM you pulled off so that you don't start to miss reps.

All that being said I know this is going to be one hell of a challenge and I'm looking forward to it.
Here's a video of today's workout:
http://youtu.be/0USO8Lek81E

Feel free to ask questions or offer advice/criticism.

The only thing I ask is that it's all constructive. We're all here to learn and become the strongest baddest lifter we can be.

Jakethaniel

Jakethaniel

Awards
  • Established
I would strongly advise you to pick one or the other to run smolov for then after it do the same for the other.

What you could do is Smolov for squat first:

m Smolov
t Heavy Bench Singles +accessory work
w Smolov
t Bench for sets of 5 +accessory work
f Smolov
s Smolov
s Light Bench singles

The after that Smolov for bench

m Smolov+accessory work
t Heavy Squat Singles
w Smolov +accessory work
t Squats for sets of 5
f Smolov
s Smolov +accessory work
s Light Squat singles