USAF Combat Control Trainee

1. Registered User
    Stats
    6'1"  196 lbs.
    Answers

USAF Combat Control Trainee

First, "Hello". I've followed this site for years, however have yet to contribute advice or ask for any. I am 26 years old and have set for myself some arduous goals and I am hoping this community may help bolster me. I have decided to attempt enlistment in the U.S. Air Force, under Air Combat Controller, or should I not be selected, enter under a TAC-P contract. My overall goal is to serve in the United States Marine Corps as an FAC (Forward Air Control) officer, but I will need to complete my degree before applying for this privilege. (The airforce offers an associates in either of the above mentioned fields, and I will complete the remaining two years while serving my six year contract.) Now the fitness side. I need to train to accomplish these goals, I have been lifting for seven years, but always on a strength training routine. I used to weigh 230 lbs, 15% Bf, I am now 196 lbs 20% Bf. I suffered from lower back and shoulder injuries that kept me from lifting or exercising for 2 years time. I began working out again in January, and have now felt prepared to initiate training to the level of intensity required for special operations. If there is anyone with knowledge on how to best prepare, or who has gone through similar training, I would truly appreciate any advice. Even if only anecdotal.

I am recording everything from my diet, exercise, and sleep. If anyone subscribes interest I will log all process on this thread.

My exercise routine is as follows:

A.M. Cardio: 1hour bike, at 80-90 rpm
    Afternoon:30 min interval run
    Late Afternoon: "Weight Training" 45 min/ Low intensity cardio 20 min.
    3 hours before bed: 1 hour bike at 80-90 rpm

My variations will replace the interval run with swimming 100 meter sprints for 30 min followed by a 4 mile run.