Analysis Paralysis, some help here bro's

juansieteuno

Awards
So I'm a noob that has been training for a year now. I'm at 170 pounds (15-16% bf I think) and I'm trying to figure out how to set my macros for a cut

I'm looking for a way to maintain strength(at least) while I get to 10% bf

My best lifts(max singles) are as follows(to give you an idea of muscle mass since I can't yet post pics)

Back squat- 315 pounds
Deadlift- 350 pounds
Bench Press- 250 pounds
Military Press- 140 pounds

I would really appreciate help here, cause the interwebs has so so so many info it can be quite freezing

Thanks guys

Masterkai

Masterkai

Awards
Timinvermont dot com. That website has great info on everything training. Including the exact formula to figure out macros based on body type. I could just give it to you but I prefer you go take the time. Let me know if you have questions. Happy training!

juansieteuno

Awards
Thanks, I think I have figured out my maintenance calories at 2300 cals per day, which according to calculations is low but I was an obese kid so I figure that is the culprit

My diet is mainly chicken breast, sweet potatoes, oats, whey, peanut butter, etc. So I'm eating 95% clean with the occasional deviations being some protein bar or a subway sandwich

I will check that link out now, thanks man

john.patterson

john.patterson

Awards
  • Established
Solid lifts for someone who's only been training for a year!

Just to give you a heads up - you won't be able to maintain all of your strength while cutting. If you're 15% body fat at 170 pounds, your composition is 145 pounds of lean mass, and 25 pounds of fat. If your goal is to cut to 10%, your target body weight will be ~155-160 pounds, assuming you lose no muscle mass while dieting. Being 10 pounds lighter will take a toll on your max lifts, so don't expect to maintain all of your strength while dieting.