Trying to drop bodyfat and build muscle

TolaSkamp

Awards
Hello everyone … I am fairly new to the gym … I have been going to the gym for approximately 6 months …. My goal is to drop my bodyfat drastically and build muscle … I am 6’1”, 36 years, 225 pounds and according to the electronic device I have, my bodyfat is approximately 23% … I am not very active apart from when I go to the gym … My areas that I want to lose the fat the most is my chest and stomach (I know I can’t spot reduce fat, I am just trying to give as much info as possible) … I am losing weight due to a calorie deficit I have been doing (started 3 months ago at 245 pounds), I am trying to eat only 1,530 calories a day (this number was given to me by myfitnesspal app) … I would really like to get to 15% - 17% by July (not sure if it is possible, but would be great) ... I would appreciate any and all advice on how to go about accomplishing my goals ... Thanks everyone

LiftWithDonuts

LiftWithDonuts

Awards
  • Established
How does your diet look?

Matthew1237

Matthew1237

Awards
As long as you figure out your calories needs - eat around maintainence and sway your body's fat loss/muscle gain via stimulus. Do cardio and big compound lifts - eat lots of protein/fats and carbs PWO and low/no carbs for other meals. That'd be your best bet for a recomp.

john.patterson

john.patterson

Awards
  • Established
Sounds like you've made some great progress. I think your calories are very low for your current body weight, which will eventually lead to a plateau. How much weight have you been losing per week? Its ideal to aim to lose 1-2 pounds per week, which is a healthy rate for fat loss. If you're content with eating at such a big deficit I guess you can stay on your current plan.