I need diet help

tdecosta519

Awards
I have been working out for about 6 years now but I have now realized that I have no idea what I'm doing with eating. I need help with a plan to cut for the summer while retaining my muscle. I am 5 foot 6 and weigh 160 pounds.

Can anyone give me a rough estimate of a diet plan?

Tagger

Tagger

Awards
I have been working out for about 6 years now but I have now realized that I have no idea what I'm doing with eating. I need help with a plan to cut for the summer while retaining my muscle. I am 5 foot 6 and weigh 160 pounds.

Can anyone give me a rough estimate of a diet plan?
I'm not going to do it all for you but I will tell you what to search for.

Look up how to figure what your maintenance calories are for 160.

Then you need to decide macros. If your cutting I know people that do 40 percent protein. 40 percent fat. 20 percent carbs. Search "how to figure macros".

Then you need to sit down and plan a diet that hits the calories you need to lose weight which is 500 less than your maintenance calories and your plan has to hit your macros.

Then start eating your food plan and see if your weight goes up or down or stays the same. Adjust values from there.

xR1pp3Rx

xR1pp3Rx

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
this sounds pretty good for starters. getting ripped is about using quality nutrition in a cals in vs cals out manner. you need to look into myfitness pal on your iPhone/android. its a calorie tracking program that will help you log food each day.
lastly look into the many highly effective supplements out on the market for burning fat, combined with exercise and diet you will be diced in time!

vujade

vujade

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Google this.... Dave Polumbo's Cutting Diet.

I lost 30lbs in 4 months with no supplements other then protein powder,
I maintained my lean mass and lost mostly fat.

BigRed1974

BigRed1974

Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar