Macros for losing fat

Enkognito

Enkognito

Awards
In my efforts to come up with appropriate macros for cutting fat I ended up with 2938cal. This takes into account the 20% cut in calories for trying to cut body fat. After that, I chose to do 2g protein per kg total body weight, and then I chose 1g per kg Lean body mass (a few months ago I had it calculated at 26% BF and 193lb (90kg). So that came out to being 90g fat, then the remaining carbs, ended up being 296g.

How I got 2938: I took 31kcal x 118kg (my total body weight in kg) Then I multiplied that number by .2 for the 20% calorie deficit I'll be putting myself at and that gave me 2938.

My question is, are these numbers too high? It seems that I should be consuming less calories if I want to cut weight.

I work out about 5 days a week, and once the snow clears, I'm an avid cycler. I'm a student, so a lot of my day is spend sitting, in a classroom, or at my job standing behind the pharmacy counter.

Any advice is appreciated
Thanks

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
Look up "how to calculate tdee" and report back with the number

Enkognito

Enkognito

Awards
Look up "how to calculate tdee" and report back with the number
I looked up what you said and ended up using the Katch-McArdle equation. A while back (several months) I was found to be around 26% BF making my lean muscle mass around 194lb or 88kg. So I used that and ended up with 2271calories. Should I use this number then?

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
Okay so if you're trying to lose weight subtract 500 cals and start from there. If you are in fact in the upper 20's for bf% then you could lose a pound per week easily

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
Keep protein high and use trial and error with carbs and fat

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
If you don't see any weight loss then subtract another 100... it takes time, don't rush it

laneanders

laneanders

Awards