New to Everything

nublit

Awards
Hello all, I am very new to everything here and I have a few questions that will probably get me yelled at, but after extensive reading I cant seem to find the answers I am looking for. First off, a bit about me. I am 36 years old, 5'10" tall, 205 pounds, ~17%bf, good diet (not excellent) and just started getting back into shape after a back injury put me out for some time. I have a big frame, and some muscle mass, but I have a "gut" that wont seem to go away. I have just been cleared by my doctor for all levels of physical activity and additionally had blood work and other vitals done and I am absolutly "normal" for a man my age. I am a chef, so a nazi-esq diet is out of the question, but on the upside, all types of proteins and fresh foods are at my disposal. I have an unbelievably SLOW metabolism, and started keeping a food journal a few weeks back. By my calculation I take in around 1600 calories a day, and have dropped about 30lbs over the past 4 months...but the weight loss has leveled off. I know my caloric intake is pretty low, but I honestly dont get that hungry, and logic would dictate that calories taken in vs. calories burned is the shortest path to weightloss. My goal is NOT to be able to lift a horse over my head, win a bodybuilding contest or anything like that...rather, I want to look great naked. Vain, I know, but thats what I want. Due to my work schedule I am able to work out only 3 days a week, and for the foreseeable future this isnt going to change.