Concerns in Regards to My Workout

1. Registered User
    Stats
    5'11"  180 lbs.
    Answers

Unhappy Concerns in Regards to My Workout

I have been working out since 2005 and I have seen significant results. However, I'm at a point in my work out regimen where I feel tired and unmotivated to work out.

I have been interested in bulking up and I still am, but I recently started bench pressing about 185 and going up to 190 and then 195. When I start my first set I do about 8 full controlled reps, but when I get to my second set I do about 5 or 6 if I have a spotter. Then when I get to 195 I only do 3 or 4 if I have a spotter.

Does it take time to strengthen my muscles or am I just in need of some supplements?? Also, I'm 5'10" 180 pounds with an athletic build, when do I know when its best to stop bulking? Is there a limit as far as how much I can bench press??

2. Registered User
    Stats
    5'9"  201 lbs.
    Answers

if you're tired and unmotivated, switch up your routine a bit. muscles will take time to get the strength you think they should have. you say "when i start my first set i do 8 full controlled reps" - do you do a warmup set first? second, 8 reps is ok, 2nd set 6 reps is ok, 3rd set 4 reps is ok - if you're doing a strength workout. if you're going for mass you need 8-12 reps usually. strength is anywhere between 4-6 reps, so it really depends on what you're going for. maybe for a better balance, you may want 2x175x10 reps, then 1x190x6 reps, 1x195x4 reps.