Balancing

jminis

jminis

Awards
  • Established
Here's the dilema, a few years back I had to get knee surgery and as a results my right quad has never fully caught up with my left (size wise). I'm looking for suggestions or insight on ways of going about balancing out the two legs. All suggestions or preferably experience is appreciated. late J

lifted

lifted

Awards
  • Established
are u still doing squats? what exc. are u doing?

my advice would be to stick to heavy isolation exc. for a while.
u can merely just maintain w/ them more than u can w/ compounds IMO. perhaps using leg ext. if they are really disproportionate, then just lay off on total max weight and even though u might lose some muscle in the left, but u would have a better chance at sizing them up better.

i dunno, when i started lifting, my left arms was almost a whole inch smaller than my right. I tried to even them out as much as possible. and still to this day, they are still like this. not as much, but still the same.

btw, what did u have done on ur knee? I might have to be getting something done as well. I have a "floater" or rather piece of dead cartilage swimming around in my knee cap. every once in a while it will get lodged in funny and i wont be able to straighten my leg, or bend it. its not to pleasant.

--good luck..........

jminis

jminis

Awards
  • Established
Jergo I hurt my knee playing basketball. I went up to dunk it and felt a pop. Needless to say I came down and could barely walk, what happened was I actually broke a piece of bone off the front of my kneecap, ouch. The X-ray looked odd when I saw it.:(