beginner

blackthought

Awards
Well let me first apologize, because I'm sure there has been post ont his before and I"ve searched for them but nothing really what I was looking for. I just started lifting weights to lose fat and gain strength. Different places I've looked say different things for as a workout schedule. For somebody just starting out is it best to do a total body workout around 3 times a week or more of a split type of routine. Any suggestions as to a schedule would be helpful

bulls**t

bulls**t

Awards
  • Established
Im sure there are varying ideas about this, but assuming you are the average healthy male that has consulted a doctor before beggning an exercise program, I would reccomend full body workouts.

Stick with compound movements initially.
I wouldnt lift Mon Wed Fri. Take two or three full days off in between lifting.

On off days do some cardio, play some basketball, yoga, GPP, etc.

It sounds simple and basic because it is, and its what works.
Good luck.

By the way,my 16 year old little brother just started lifting. I have him doing Squats, RDLs, Bent Over Rows, and Bench Press one day on, two days off, with some jogging in between. Hes getting strong as hell, feels good, and looks good.

Last edited:

SteelDedication

Awards
I suggest starting off with a 3x a week program for the first couple of months. Take some time to get the feel for the weights, motions, and your own body. You should look up some routines from the excercise database at bodybuilding.com to get a start then tweak them a littl to your own needs.

guyfromkop2

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
do a basic 3xs a week, squat, bench, deadlift routine. mon squats, wed bench, fri deads and back. you will get gains from everything, just do compound movements to get the motions down and add some muscle. pm me if you want a basic routine. i'll give you one

Last edited:
CROWLER

CROWLER

Anabolic Innovations Owner
Awards
  • Established