taking a rest

swtnycboy

Awards
i never took a rest without being injured. how long should i rest for. The reason i am resting is because my back is overworked. Its not in pain but sore.

Rage (SoCal)

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
It's good to take a break once every 12 weeks, a one week break is good.

jjm

jjm

Awards
It's good to take a break once every 12 weeks, a one week break is good.
I was going to post a new thread but then I saw this thread, so i'll just add in here.

I want to take a 1 week break. I've been training for 9 months now and I havent missed over 1 day in a row.

I've only been working my legs for about 4.5 months so i was wondering if i should still train my legs during that week break? Maybe do something like:
Monday - light legs
Wednesday - Heavy legs
Friday - light legs.

And can I still do cardio, or should I just not do anything during the week off?

Mulletsoldier

Mulletsoldier

Binging on Pure ****ing Rage
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
No, I don't think you should do that. I also think it would benefit the original poster as well as you jjm to realize all the benefits of rest. Through continual usage your body needs rest, not only your skeletal-muscle systems, but more importantly your central nervous system. If it makes you feel better when I first started training I actually bragged about not taking a break in a year or so, I was stupid.

jjm

jjm

Awards
No, I don't think you should do that. I also think it would benefit the original poster as well as you jjm to realize all the benefits of rest. Through continual usage your body needs rest, not only your skeletal-muscle systems, but more importantly your central nervous system. If it makes you feel better when I first started training I actually bragged about not taking a break in a year or so, I was stupid.