HIIT running: Am I hardcore yet?

methusaleh

methusaleh

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
I know this sounds like such a childish and narcissistic question, but I needed to put a topic that would grab attention.

Simply put, I am still new to HIIT running/sprinting, having only done it last summer for a short while before winter, and I just started up again a couple months ago with my new gym membership.

I just want to know at what point is a good HIIT running workout considered to be really hardcore? I mean, what does the average person do? How long and at what speeds can the average person go for? Compared to someone who is more than average, pushing themselves more than most.

Reason I am asking is that I hit my personal best yesterday, 12 minutes, alternating between 4 and 6.5 MPH for the entire time. Let me tell you, when I got done I felt like I had really pushed myself and I couldn't imagine doing anything more intense than that, at least at my level. My girlfriend was on an elliptical in the same room and she said when I hit 6.5MPH the treadmill was whining so loud and my legs were moving so fast she thought something bad was going to happen. I have never even sprinted over 6.2MPH before, let alone 6.5MPH as part of an HIIT routine.

So...am I finally achieving HIIT running greatness, or am I just in awe at doing something for the first time?

LCSULLA

Awards
  • Established
Well I can't tell you what the average person does, (because I don't the average person does HIIT, slow and low is what most people do) But hardcore? The UFC fighters on that show TUF. They had to do a PT test prior to the show. And I think the test was a 30min HiiT routine. Alternating between level 3 and level 10 for the entire 30min...I think? I'll see if can find it. But I do remeber thinking that I would die if I had to do it for 5-6 min.

Mulletsoldier

Mulletsoldier

Binging on Pure ****ing Rage
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established