Resistance Training same muscle group 2x per week

protempsfish

Awards
I was talking to a friend the other day. He had mentioned something about a training program where you train the same muscle groups 2x per week. I would have thought that it would inhibit recovery time but he swears by it. For example. Monday-biceps/shoulders heavy weights, low reps and Thursdays using same muscle groups, light weight high reps. Has anyone done this or would anyone recommend this type of resistance training? To me, it sounds like over training but i am no expert.

mickc1965

mickc1965

Awards
  • Established
Are you Natty or Assisted?

You adjust volume to suit, I currently train each muscle group 2 or 3 times per week using a HST / Myo reps hybrid.

UCSMiami

UCSMiami

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
I do Chest/Shoulders/Triceps(pushing) Mon and Thursday and Back/Biceps(pulling) on Tues and Friday. Heavy weight on all occasions. 6-8 reps each set. 4 sets after warmup.
Mostly all compound work.

Squats/DLs/etc on Wed. so that is only 1x per week.

Does that fit what you are looking for?

How long? Several years now. Since 2015.

Opinions? Love it. Works for me as that is 72 hours recovery time in-between muscle groups. One week for squats. A younger person could use less recovery time. New people starting out need more recovery. what a mess.

I started training a newbie last week on this program. It is harder than a 5x5 MWF program. Easier than a large set count whole body 3x per week.

protempsfish

Awards
I guess the recovery time is the real concern but if it is being done by others with no issues, than i will give it a try.

UCSMiami

UCSMiami

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Go easy your first day, week otherwise DOMS will be debilitating and stifle motivation.

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established