6 Day Push Pull Legs Split

1. 6 Day Push Pull Legs Split

Hi Guys,

I've been training for around 6-7 years now and about to finish my cut. I've usually stuck to training 1 muscle group per day over 5 days.
    I've been looking at different splits which will help me get the most out of my workouts and help me put on some size.
    What are your thoughts on the 6 day PPL split? I'd also have a day off in between so it would be 6 workouts over 8 days. PPL Rest PPL Rest.
    I'm happy to increase the volume of my workouts but as a natural lifter I was also worried that this might be too much volume?

Thanks for your help!

2. I tried it a couple of times but always went back to 5 day split i like hitting each muscle group fresh.
    •   

3. Sorry didn't answer your question, personally I found it hard to recover from each workout but I think I was maybe used to going to close to failure on each set with being used to the 7 day recuperation. By the time the 1st push session came round again my shoulders and chest would still be sore so I lost strength/reps. As I say though maybe I was going too hard and needed to dial it back a bit.

4. Thanks for replying!
    Ye I was thinking the same. Training each muscle group once a week allows more volume since you will have 7 days to recover. I have just read in a few places that it can be more beneficial to hit each muscle twice a week as 7 days to recover is excessive. I like the idea of hitting each muscle twice a week but I also like the high volume, I obviously can't do both I was thinking that by lowering the volume but lifting heavy on the compound movements would help increase strength at a greater rate. I think it's something I might try for around a month and see how I feel and what progress I'm making.

5. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4836564/

Studies have shown no difference between high and low frequency body part training. All comes down to what you prefer really.
    •