From 5 day split to 3 day split

Laharl9999

Laharl9999

Awards
I just started lifting in the last year. For the last 6 months I've been doing a 5 day split. With this split I work each body part once per week. I've felt for a while that I'm leaving too much time for recovery and that my schedule could be more efficient by incorporating more body parts per day. For the past 2 weeks I've started doing Push/Pull/Legs, a 3 day split. I have lowered my volume of sets. I now do about 5 sets of my core lift for each body part then 3 sets of 2 or 3 more exercises per body part.

Since I've started this regimen my core lifts have gone down slightly. Also, I'm more fatigued by the end of my workout meaning some muscles are hit with less intensity. For example, on Push day I do chest, triceps then delts, in that order. My delts and triceps don't get hit as hard as when they had their own day.

My question is, will the frequency of workouts and more constant hypertrophy make up for less volume and intensity per body part?

hohojijo

hohojijo

Awards
There is going to be a ton of opinions here. That is normal. But in my opinion doing a 5 to 6 day split would be more effective. Hitting body parts multiple times a week in different ways each session.

mickc1965

mickc1965

Awards
  • Established
I just started lifting in the last year. For the last 6 months I've been doing a 5 day split. With this split I work each body part once per week. I've felt for a while that I'm leaving too much time for recovery and that my schedule could be more efficient by incorporating more body parts per day. For the past 2 weeks I've started doing Push/Pull/Legs, a 3 day split. I have lowered my volume of sets. I now do about 5 sets of my core lift for each body part then 3 sets of 2 or 3 more exercises per body part.