Thoughts about the Brachialis

siske1995

Awards
Hey guys, been a lurker for a while and thought I would post something to debate. I'm a graduate Fitness Instructor and Personal Trainer, moving onto Physiotherapy in Oktober because of my interest in human Anatomy and injuries.

To the point, I was toying with how to hit the Brachialis, the workhorse of elbow flexion sitting beneath the Biceps Brachii in the most optimal fashion to get the best isolation out of it. This has led me to Overhead Curls first. Makes sense, putting the arms overhead puts the Biceps Brachii in a semi contracted position at the shoulder joint, trying to flex both the shoulder and the biceps would result in "Active Insufficiency", meaning the Biceps cannot contract optimally and therefore produce as much force. This moves a lot of the load to the Brachialis on its own already, but I tried to play with hand positions, and found that Reverse OH Curls really hit and activate the Brachialis A LOT.

My reasoning is that both Biceps and Brachioradialis are put at an disadvantaged position to exerct force, putting a lot more load on the Brachialis. Anecdotally, my Brachioradialis is strongest in neutral position, hence my reasoning and experimentation.

I have not put this to the test in real world application of hypertrophy, nor do I expect anyone to do so, I just like to think about this stuff and as I'm going to study Physiotherapy, I should think a lot about stuff like this.

Try it for yourself, position your arm overhead and use your other hand to pinpoint the Brachialis between the Biceps and Triceps down the lower half of the humerus. Now supinate and curl, then pronate and curl, the difference in activation is quite significant!

What do you guys think?

muscleupcrohn

muscleupcrohn

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
I've actually been focusing on working the brachialis as well.