PLEASE HELP!

LDubs

LDubs

Awards
Hello everyone,
I have been training for about 5 years now and feel like im making some big mistakes. I dont feel like I've made the progress I should have in this time frame. I think it might be my training program that needs reevaluation.

I am currently cutting. I am probably around 20% bf right now. So I have a ways to go. I am wanting to get down to 15%.

I have a history of back problems and have a bulge at l3-l4 and l4-s1. I also have degenerative disc disease. I have tried back squatting many times and it always seems to cause huge problems. Deadlift surprisingly doesn't seem to bother me though if I pull off of 3" blocks.

Please help recommend a routine that I will be able to make some decent progress on that doesn't rely on back squats.

Thank you and reps to anyone that is willing to help me!

Driven2lift

Driven2lift

AnabolicMinds Site Rep
Awards
You should still be following a standard routine but replacing back squats with whatever movement you are capable of.

Front squats, hack squats, leg press?

Not ideal replacements, but throwing aside existing routines just because back squat is listed is not the way to go IMO

Edit a good program to fit.

What programs have you run?

Driven2lift

Driven2lift

AnabolicMinds Site Rep
Awards
Also how is your diet looking, if cutting is being problematic.

Caloric intake?
Current rate of progress?

LDubs

LDubs

Awards
You should still be following a standard routine but replacing back squats with whatever movement you are capable of.

Front squats, hack squats, leg press?

Not ideal replacements, but throwing aside existing routines just because back squat is listed is not the way to go IMO

Edit a good program to fit.

What programs have you run?
Thanks for your reply!