Really? shoulder press lagging

Snipervirus17

Awards
Good afternoon fellow lifters. I have a dilemma I need to share and hopefully I can get some helpful information on it. I am currently 177lbs at about 10% or so bf 5'11" and I've been lifting for 2 years. I recently just started the "Starting Strength Advanced Novice Program", this is my second stab at this program since I had to stop in the middle of it before about 7 months ago. Also today was the end of my 2nd week. Ended on Squat, Standing OHP, and weighted pullups just a few hours ago.

Now before I explain it further, I am not doing a staggered stance, feet are about shoulder width apart and my hand position is kind of wide (pinkies are wrapped around the single ring on an olympic bar). I have only been on this program for 2 weeks and yes I have tried deloading/resetting weight in the past and it hasn't worked, I've tried going down as much as 20 pounds and slowly working back up passed 125 but it doesn't work.

I have always struggled on this lift and can't figure out anything that could help, should I try another exercise? Or should I just keep trying? or what? nothing seems to work.

Thanks guys

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Just from the sounds of it, you need some technique adjustments. I go with a staggered stance as I find it more spinal protective and easier to engage the lower body. I'd also bring in your grip 1-2" per side. Are you making sure to press the bar backwards?

Snipervirus17

Awards
Just from the sounds of it, you need some technique adjustments. I go with a staggered stance as I find it more spinal protective and easier to engage the lower body. I'd also bring in your grip 1-2" per side. Are you making sure to press the bar backwards?