Deload Week

GreenMachineX

GreenMachineX

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
  • RockStar
I believe it's time for a deload or light week. When you guys incorporate this, do you just lighten the weight and increase the reps? Or just go light by keeping the reps the same but lighten the weights? I've been doing 5x5 or 3x3 for most of my working sets if that matters. Should I go with 3x8 but stay far from failure on overhead press for example? I typically just let vacations, sickness, etc take care of the week off but I've been training really hard for 3 months now and just feeling run down. Any thoughts?

kisaj

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
My goal is always to take a straight week off, but that never happens. I tend to continue incorporating LISS and then lighten the load in the gym by 50%. When you are going for it the other 8-12 weeks, then that feels like a vacation.

GreenMachineX

GreenMachineX

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
  • RockStar
My goal is always to take a straight week off, but that never happens. I tend to continue incorporating LISS and then lighten the load in the gym by 50%. When you are going for it the other 8-12 weeks, then that feels like a vacation.
Gotcha. Well, I think I'll just take a full week off. I probably need it.

kisaj

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
It's tough mentally, but when you go back you wonder why you don't do it more.

Chrisehyoung

Chrisehyoung

Awards
I just took a 3 day weekend with zero weights at all. Did some nature hiking with the kids instead. I have to force myself to deload. When I do I try to halve my sets. If I usually do 4 sets of 10, I'll do 2 keeping the weight the same. I tried decreasing the weight but I just kept increasing the volume along with it.

cumminslifter

cumminslifter

Awards
50% of the weight and 50% of the sets

bolt10

bolt10

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established