Deadlift Critique Please

PlateHead45

PlateHead45

Awards
I just started deadlifting about 6 months ago and increased from 315 to 400. I'm very happy, but as you can see in the video, there was some major breakdown. Can you take a look and help me with that needs to be improved on technique? It seems like my back is rounding so I can possibly squat down a little more and keep my back more neutral and at a slight incline.

Whatever help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

[video=youtube;2UygmKQxoPc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UygmKQxoPc&feature=youtu.be[/video]

HIT4ME

HIT4ME

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
I am no expert, but you are not starting in the right position, IMO. Proper setup is a huge key. It looks like you may have long legs, but one thing that you may want to learn is that if you lean back a little more....your bodyweight acts as a counterforce and allows you to pull more weight. I feel like if you lean back more, your butt will come a little lower, your back will be a bit more upright and your starting position will be much improved. Others on here will hopefully have better advice...

Jackedjack

Jackedjack

Awards
tygatyga would be the best to answer, but I'll try. First off your lift off is off. You want your hips lower to start off. Sometimes it helps to contract the lats before you initiate the lift. Then it looks as if your aren't driving with your legs enough causing your back to round out and take unessecary stress

Jakethaniel

Jakethaniel

Awards
  • Established
Your hips start high and you straighten your legs before you start pushing your hips through, so you end up doing a stiff legged deadlift then you have to hitch at around your knees to lock it out.

First you want to work on your setup like HIT4ME said. Mainly it just looks like you need your hips to be lower and to get tighter.