2 weeks, 5 pound drop, keep all strength?

zach195

zach195

Awards
Hey guys, I've been lifting for a few years now, and like to think I have a solid grasp on the basis of exercise and nutrition, but I'm seeking advice of people who know much more then I do on here. I'm on deployment and just went on a <30g carb diet in the prep phase for carb backloading, well the post I'm on just announced a deadlift competition in 2 weeks, December 14th. I'm wanting to enter. Currently I know I can pull 435 easily at 190 pounds. The weight classes for the competition is 172-185 and 186-205. Ideally I would love to drop the 5 pounds, and still keep my 435 lift or even try to pull more, but I'm worried the sudden cut in 2 weeks would hurt my strength. I have a much better chance at placing in the lower weight class. I am currently running ostarine at 20mg pd. Any suggestions on how to cut the 5 pounds and still be at optimal strength? Keep the low carb or add in cardio? All advice is appreciated!

Wrivest

Wrivest

Awards
The advice I got before my 1st meet was pretty solid. Unless you are about to set records, don't sweat going through a cut, it's not worth it. Make the competition about you and your numbers. A 5 lb cut in 2 weeks is pretty do-able, but I wouldn't make any big changes to do it.
Just my quick opinion, best of luck man!!!

usealittle

usealittle

Awards
  • Established
how far out its the weigh in from the show? 24 hour,12 or morning of the meet?

for me and most of the people iv trained 5lbs can be lost in less then 10hrs without trying. ie, say after 6pm no eatting or drinkin untill you get off scale then start pounding cards and liquid. your weight will be gone and cone back with little chage to the body. as long as you get sugar and carbs in you will not see any strength differances.

iv cut 14lbs in about 7hour (with a little help) then after the weigh ins i gained 16 back in 24hours. then went on to set 2 records at that meet. so 5 lbs is really no problem.