Looking for a good training program

maxram

maxram

Awards
Hi, I'm sort of a newbie. I signed up last year but I haven't really browsed the forum.

I'm 29 years old, I'm a nurse. I'm pretty much sedentary at home after my shifts. I get tired easily.

I weigh 99kg, 5'8". I have a poor diet of eating fastfood at work and cafeteria food for the rest of my meals.

I'm attempting to change for the better but honestly I'm a bit clueless on where to start.

Hoping you guys will help.

nicksox15

nicksox15

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
First get your diet in check. Is your main goal fat loss or building muscle? How many days can you give at least 45 mins to workout?

maxram

maxram

Awards
I'm on a low carb diet that I started just a week ago because my doctor diagnosed me with developing insulin resistance recently.

I've started running. 30 minutes in the morning and afternoon depending on my shift.

I'm hoping to lose the fat and build muscle.

Thanks for the reply.

Jiigzz

Jiigzz

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • First Up Vote
Long hours at work? A good place to start is with the diet as this will facilitate the weight loss process.

I recommend using myfitnesspal.com.

After creating an account, google TDEE caculator. This stands for Total Daily Energy Expenditure and will give you a very rough idea of how many calories you need to maintain your current weight. Drop 250-500kcals from this number and use this as a starting point.

Now using MFP.com you can create custom goals that will allow you to insert this value.

For protein, aim for 1.6-1.8g per kilogram of bodyweight (multiply your weight by 1.6 or 1.8) and for fat a minimum of 1.2g per kg.
Theres no requirement for carbs so just add in what you want.

You can increase your fats, protein or carbs to meet the rest of your calorie needs.

Using the custom goal page on MFP, try setting the percentages to reflect these numbers.