5x5 help

Matt 258

Matt 258

Awards
Hi I'm currently 5''11 179 12% bf and trying to cut down to 8%. I need an exercise routine that will help me get there. I've been lifting for 6 years and I know a decent amount of workouts. Someone recommended a 5x5 routine can anyone suggest or link me a routine works a compound muscle Group twice a week.

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
2x per...
Day 1 (full body...) Monday
Squat 5x5
BP's 5x5
Rows 4x8
Arms
Abs

Day 2 Thursday
OHP's 4x8
Deads 3x5
Chins or Pull Dwns 4x6-10
Abs
Arms

4x per...
4 Day (Upper Lower Split...)
BP's
OHP's
Horz Pull
Arms
Abs

Day 2
Squats
Hypers or Lunges
Calves
Grip work

Day 3
Off

Day 4
Dips or Inclines
DBOHP's
Chins or Pull Dwns
Arms
Abs

Day 5
Deads
Leg Presses
Calves
Grip work

Day 6-7 off
Repeat

Lots of ways you can split it up
Use the big compounds first and foremost

As far as cutting weight and BF%'s, that is pretty much, food intake and good diet.

Strongman Ian

Strongman Ian

Awards
Agree with previous poster. BF is adjusted through diet, not training. Lifting will, however, up your metabolism. Stay away from a lot of iso work. Compound lifts are what give you the biggest spark. If your body can handle it deadlift twice a week, maybe max 3 one day and max 8 three to four days later. Nothing stokes the fire like heavy pulls. When pressing, do standing overhead. Gives you more bang for your buck than benching. Push presses or push jerks are my personal favorite.

Matt 258

Matt 258

Awards