No idea what routine to use/ tired of routines

chedapalooza

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
This last week I have totally winged my workouts doing whatever sets and reps I wanted of whatever exercise until I felt like I had done enough. Suffice to say, this was pretty liberating and fun. The only issue is I feel like progress will be short lived utilizing this type of training. I've been training for 12 years as a hs and college football player and for the last 4/12 just for Health and physique. Not overly concerned with strength but still do the big lifts. I like to focus on wide lats and shoulders and do 2-3 days of hiit a week, separate from
Weights if i can. Just wondering what kind of split you all think I should use moving forward... How many times to hit each muscle per week. I know I will be hitting chest and legs only once bc those r my genetic strong points. I really want to bring up my arms and shoulders.... Any thoughts / suggestions? Thanks.

Montego1

Montego1

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Tried mountain dog?

If not do that.

chedapalooza

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Tried mountain dog?

If not do that.
I have seen it and followed several logs. I found it very interesting and actually utilize some of his exercises, but I don't have any of the things like bands or chains.. Same for reactive pump. Plus those are more 5-6 day splits and I think I realized as I was writing my OP that I'm looking for 4 lifting days max , preferably 3.. Like m/w/f and do HIIT / GPP work tues/thurs

So I guess I'm just wondering the best way to break up the groups over those 3 days while hitting shoulders, back, and arms twice, legs and chest once. Allowing sufficient recovery and growth potential