Injured- Keep Bulking or Start Cutting????

LB_Patriot

Awards
I have some nagging lingering injuries I cant and won't fight anymore. I've been bulking for a few months now and was planning on continuing until around May 1st but in light of reducing the frequency, weight load, and intensity of upper body workouts I was thinking about starting to cut now.

The question is whether I should continue to bulk or start cutting?

I'm thinking that If I keep a calorie surplus im going to to just add fat since I'm not creating protein synthesis and muscle breakdown stimulating repair by not training my upper body. On the other hand if I start to cut and do cardio/HIIT without weight training I could lose a lot of muscle. Kind of Mind ****ed right now cause my injuries are depressing the **** out of me, and holding me back from training. BTW, I'm on Doctor Prescribed TRT 100mg CYP E5D but no other Gear.

Thanks.

herderdude

herderdude

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Numero uno: get healthy above all else. See a doctor, chiropractor, PT, whatever it takes. That's your best bet, to get back on the horse ASAP.

Number 2: why not eat at maintenance? Don't add fat or lose muscle. In an injury situation, the best you can hope for is to tread water. You may have to adjust your calories for inactivity.

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
What Herder^ said
I am guessing shoulders, since you mention almost exclusively upper body!?
Why not also take this time devoting work to lower body stuff and thus keeping the system tuned for growth etc.?

JSNeves

JSNeves

Awards
I vote for eating at maintainence and try to get things healthy... I was in the same situation and cut too quick and lost a lot in the process!

LB_Patriot

Awards
Numero uno: get healthy above all else. See a doctor, chiropractor, PT, whatever it takes. That's your best bet, to get back on the horse ASAP.