Training program for a 45 year old

Looseunitwa

Looseunitwa

Awards
Hi champs
Need a good solid work out program to build good solid muscle with good recovery time.
I am 46 years old. 85 kilos.
I've been lifting for a few years now and hit a plateau.
Past month been training basically one body part each day for 5 sets of 4 exercises.
Just getting too sore and I now know just have over trained.
Any suggestions and/or lead me in the right direction.

Cheers

Sean1332

Sean1332

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Try this:

1) Upper-Vertical press and involved muscles (shoulder or chest, back, bi/tri)
2) Lower-Deadlift, hams, quads
3) Upper-Horizontal press
4) Lower- Squat variant

or a 3-Day:

Week 1
1) Vertical press
2) Deadlift
3) Horizontal press
Week 2
1) Squat
2) Pressing movement
3) Deadlift
Week 3 rotate again

Both provide plenty of recovery time and an emphasis on movements and effective muscle groups. Take your main movements, and then train the muscles that are involved with those.

Example:
Bench press
Cable Row
Tricep exercise
Facepulls or rear delt exercise

Deadlift
Good mornings
Lunges

Vary your intensity and volume of each lift how you deem it fit. Others here will chime in with their great ideas too.

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I like Sean's recommendations ^.

A few things since you are 46...
Have you been doing on a reg basis the big leg moves like squats, deads etc.? (do not be embarrassed to say either way, since at 46 yo, you might want to try a pgdl (parallel grip deadlift like suitcase lift, at first anyway) to get more used to that fuller body hip, low back and leg work.

Question when you say too sore!?, is that DOMS as in muscle soreness, or joint aches?
If it is muscle/DOMS, lighter moves in the same exercise on other days thru the week can help recovery.