push- pull movement question

J

jhizzle

Awards
Hey guys new to the board but I have been lifting for a few years now...what are your guys opinions on two muscle training? I hear some guys love doing chest/tris, back/bis but I like the idea of push-pull i.e. chest/bis back/tris...thoughts, opinions? Thanks

P

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Like an upper lower!? Sure why not!?
I assume you are doing shoulders on another day?
What does the entire week look like or the entire routine?
Goals?

mountainman33

mountainman33

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
My current split:

Chest / Lats
Quads / Calves
Shoulders / Traps
Hams / Calves

Size, strength, propotion, and recovery have all been consistent.

asooneyeonig

asooneyeonig

Awards
if you do compound movements you are doing more than 2 muscles. bench - shoulders, lats, triceps, pecs. squats - abs, back, quads, hammies, calfs. deadlift - nearly everything.

J

jhizzle

Awards
I do chest/bis 3-4 movements each...back/tris 3-4 movements each....shoulders and legs alone...abs/calves eod

K

kisaj

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
It is better to state what you are doing for the split rather than just state the split. For instance, are you doing sumo deads on back day? Because you are also incorporating legs into that, so it gives a better idea of what you are doing. That is just an example, but too often people don't list what they are actually doing and don't realize that they are in fact working more compound (or the opposite and not working enough muscle groups with too much isolation).

ZiR RED

ZiR RED

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I train my upper back muscles 3-4 times a week.

Over the course of the week my horizontal pull volume and vertical pull volume is about 1.5 times that my horizontal and vertical push volume, respectively.