Working Major/Minor Body Parts within 24 Hrs of Each Other

BillyBatson

BillyBatson

Awards
Okay, this is likely a complete NEWB category question .... but as I cannot recall an answer, I'm asking anyway . . .

Is it okay to workout relative body parts two days in a row?

e.g. . . . .
If I work SHOULDERS fairly intensely on a Monday, can I/should I work CHEST the following day - or is that too much load and/or tear upon my shoulder muscles?

Same goes for working BICEPS on one day, and then BACK the following day.

Thanks - Looking forward to some informed insight/advice.

mountainman33

mountainman33

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Shoot for upper/lower/upper/lower.

BillyBatson

BillyBatson

Awards
My general/usual workout schedule has been something along the lines of the following:

Mon - Chest/Triceps
Tue - Back/Abs
Wed - Legs
Thur - Shoulders/Abs
Fri - Biceps
Sat - Rest
Sun - Tennis w/ Friends + Rest

Been trying to switch things up lately - which is what prompted my original question.

I'm thinking I don't really want to work legs twice in one week - as I work them pretty intensely on my "leg day" as it is.

Thoughts?

mountainman33

mountainman33

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Your legs are a high capacity, high endurance group of muscles. Unless you train your legs like Tom Platz then you could do twice a week to see maximum progress. My current split is:

Chest/Traps
Quads/Calves
Delts/Lats
Hamstrings/Calves

I take a rest day once about every 2 weeks or so. No issues with over training, and I have volleyball practice every week.

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Okay, this is likely a complete NEWB category question .... but as I cannot recall an answer, I'm asking anyway . . .

Is it okay to workout relative body parts two days in a row?

e.g. . . . .
If I work SHOULDERS fairly intensely on a Monday, can I/should I work CHEST the following day - or is that too much load and/or tear upon my shoulder muscles?