Has anyone used the 5-3-1 method

MEGATRONIC

MEGATRONIC

Awards
So I'm going to start a new program to gain strength basically for bench, squat, overhead press, and deadlifts. Week 1 is 75% 80% & 85% 5 reps of 1 rep max. Week 2 80% 85% 90 % 3 reps. Week 3 75% x 5. 85% x3. 95% x 1. Week 4 Deload 60% 65% 70% 5 reps. I was just wondering If anyone's tried this and has had any significant strength gains.

napalm

napalm

Awards
I've been doing one variation or another of 531 for 2 yrs now.

It works, start light and do the program as written.

Let me say that again: do the program as written...

dds

dds

Awards
  • Established
ive used it and love it..............ill be going with this program for a few years since Beyond 5/3/1 has come out with different styles of it

MEGATRONIC

MEGATRONIC

Awards
I've been doing one variation or another of 531 for 2 yrs now.

It works, start light and do the program as written.

Let me say that again: do the program as written...
Nice I'm excited to get started and see improvement in my strength

rob112

rob112

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
Using it now and love it

liftandeat

liftandeat

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Best most simple program for pure strength. No bullshi@ just follow the program exactly and gains will come.

Swanson52

Swanson52

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Search the site. I'd venture to say there are no fewer than five logs of people using 5/3/1 (in just the title), and many more using it after having tried another method.

I'll admit that I'm a full-on Wendler fanboy, but I still am of the opinion there's not another intermediate to advanced (and beyond) program that bridges the gap between simplicity and effectiveness the way 5/3/1 does.

Sean1332

Sean1332

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
Yes. You'll have significant strength gains (permitting rest and diet as well..) I built a hefty squat off of 5/3/1.