Sets, Reps, Intensity and Tempo

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'10"  155 lbs.
    Answers

Sets, Reps, Intensity and Tempo

Wanted to know if people use the same routine or sets, reps, intensity and tempo for all the body parts. Would your chest workout follow a routine similar to back or any biceps or triceps??
    Whenever I find a new routine or new training ideas, I always tend to imagine that routine for my chest day. I realise that it's wrong, but I find hard matching up the same routine for chest and biceps.
    I was looking to follow Muscle Damage And Growth - AnabolicMinds.com (which I posted in a previous thread) but would constant variation of reps and sets for three months work for all different muscle groups?

I've been training seriously for a few years now. Macros are on check. I just need to look for a new routine since the past years i've realised that training i was doing was not very structured. Any advice would be great. Thanks

2. Senior Member
    Stats
    6'0"  240 lbs.
    Answers

Maybe I am wrong, but it seems to me like focusing or thinking about the stuff you are asking, is missing the overall point of the goal of gaining strength and mass.
    I have read Wendler to Rippetoe to McRobert to Steiner to McCallum to Starr and on and on... and I never seem to have read concerns about certain intensities being varied over parts or at least they were never up on the list of top concerns!?
    The prime directive I got from an article written years ago by Stuart McRobert in an Old Ironman, was that adding weight to the big compound 5-7 exercises were the most important thing to focus on and then eating to support that growth and stimulation. For average guys, getting to say 300-400-500 (BP Squat DL)
    When I focused on that, I stopped being a hardgainer and grew stronger and gained overall mass and BW.