Preparing for first fight!

krazyg3o

krazyg3o

Awards
Hey all, still relatively new to the site but I'm hooked lol. I've been weight training and competing in contact sports for over 15 years. Decided to create a thread as I begin my 6 week training camp in preparation for my first fight (boxing). I've been boxing consistently for 5 months now and have gone through a great deal of change (lost 25 lbs) and I am taking it to the next level. I'll try to keep this updated as frequently as possible, however, it is my first thread so bare with me. If any one has any suggestions,advice our support please feel free to chime in. Thanks in advance

krazyg3o

krazyg3o

Awards
First official day of training camp. AM weight training, chest and shoulders. As I mentioned before I've recently lost 25 lbs as I try to make weight for my fight (currently 180), so I'm focusing on compound movements for volume. It sucks but I am not allowed to gain weight lol. Afternoon training, boxing, 20 rounds of pads mixed with speed training. Lot of combinations! Followed that up by a quick PM cardio session. Back on it tomorrow

ZiR RED

ZiR RED

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
If you are trying to keep your weight down you might want to increase the amount of explosive and dynamic movements you are doing. Compounds for volume are great for hypertrophy, but extra size will not benefit you in this case, especially seeing that what you need is power. Keep the weight around 60-70% of your 1 rep max, and do sets of 2-4 focusing on the speed of movement with 1-2 min rest between sets. Come to think of it, depending on your training experience, a west side approach (with a reduced assistance volume) might be ideal for you.

krazyg3o

krazyg3o

Awards