Rest pause

1. New Member
    Answers

Rest pause

I realized today that since I started training, I've been using rest pause on 99% of my sets without meaning to. Could this be the reason for stalled gains?

2. Advanced Member
    Stats
    6'2"  230 lbs.
    Answers

It depends on what iteration of "rest / pause" you're using I suppose. I've seen R/P's that were 10 to 15 second "rests" and I've seen some claim an R/P with a one minute rest.

Speaking for me - my biggest gains come from HEAVY deadlifts ... 5 reps for 5 sets. There is no ****ing way I could do 5 sets lifting as heavy as I do with only a 10 to 15 second break between sets. I need about 2-3 minutes just to recover my breath from a set. So my vote is "Yes" - if you'r using too short of a rest period between sets then it's affecting (negatively) your ability to lift as heavy as you are capable of lifting.

3. New Member
    Answers

My rest pause is for example on bench doing hmm say 3 reps then locking out for 5-10 seconds doing another rep then locking out again and so on. And I do this on nearly every set without meaning to and I always have

•   

4. New Member
    Answers

I wouldn't call this a rest pause set. However, if you think this has stalled your gains I'd discontinue this type of training for a few weeks and compare your results.

5. New Member
    Answers

Quote Originally Posted by diezel
    I wouldn't call this a rest pause set. However, if you think this has stalled your gains I'd discontinue this type of training for a few weeks and compare your results.
    Will do.

6. New Member
    Stats
    6'9"  245 lbs.
    Answers

Quote Originally Posted by Danimozz

Will do.
    Actually what you mentioned is in fact a rest pause and if your lifting heavy and taking short pauses hypertrophy should follow. I don't think this is what's resulting in your plateau. Also people seemed to have confused sets and reps.

7. New Member
    Answers

Quote Originally Posted by Philshred