When is too much too much per workout session? - AnabolicMinds.com

When is too much too much per workout session?

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'11"  171 lbs.

When is too much too much per workout session?

Newbie here who started strength training the first week of June 2012 after a 20year absence from weights. Focused on intense cardio the previous decade and a half. Truly enjoy the current experience strength training but appears I may be overtraining.

How many different stations are appropriate per workout session? I am averaging 12 up to 14. 3 sets each of 6-8reps. Occasionally, I will do another partial set at each station of 1-3 reps at a much higher weight to see where I fatigue. Too much?

Is it appropriate to do duplicates or triplicates of the same exercise type per workout if adjustments are made to grip and angle of attack?
    For example, There are three different seated row machines at my gym. Each has a different grip placement and angle of movement compared to the other. I use all three in the same workout session but do insert other exercises in-between. Example being row#1, then 3 other machines, row #2, then 3 other machines. Too much? Same with chest press.-different grips and movement angle.

Am at the point where I feel tight but not excessively sore as when I started.(I did much less reps and stations then) Have built up gradually but always testing/working with weight increments.

Typically do CH/SH/Tr, rest, Legs/Back/Bicep, Rest and repeat again but take two days off. Appears as CHSHTRWorkout/Rest/LBBicepWorkout/Rest/CHSHTRWorkout/Rest/LBBicepWorkout/Rest/Rest and then repeat.

Again, is this too much?

2. Senior Member
    Stats
    5'10"  200 lbs.

Reputation Reputation Reputation

too much is too much for you on that day, for your goals, for your work capacity, for your stress level, for you recovery ability, etc.