Back to Linear Progression? Or on to 5/3/1?

1. Registered User

Back to Linear Progression? Or on to 5/3/1?

Hi guys, I am relatively new here at AM and somewhat new to lifting.

I have been lifting for a total of 3 years, but the first year and a half I didnt really know what I was doing. During the last year or so I did Starting Strength for about 6 months and made some decent progress but started to feel really taxed from squatting heavy 3x a week (poor diet probably didnt help this). I switched to a 4 day upper/lower split and have been doing that for the last 5-6 months. I am going to be taking 2.5 weeks off from the gym because of a couple of back to back vacations coming up soon. When I return I was considering either going back onto Starting Strength for a short time before moving onto 5/3/1 or just starting 5/3/1 right away. I was hoping for some help in that decision. Here are my stats to help figure out what would be best for me.

Male
    28 y.o.
    6'2
    208 lbs

Max Lifts (estimated using the formula Wendler gives in the 5/3/1 book)
    Squat = 250 lbs
    Deadlift = 250 lbs
    Bench = 242 lbs
    OHP = 136 lbs

(my squats and deads are low because of reoccurring back injury due primarily to poor form. Hopefully I have that figured out now though and can stay injury free for a while)

Do you think it would be wise to go back onto linear progression for a month or two after the time out of the gym? Or should I just move on and start 5/3/1?

I appreciate any suggestions, Thanks!

2. Registered User

I think you could probably go back to Starting Strength for a little while. Then again, there are a lot of testimonials from beginners making great progress on 531. I guess I'll let more knowledgeable people chime in here.
  3. Registered User
    Stats
    5'8"  190 lbs.