1. Senior Member
    Stats
    5'8"  190 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    84.19%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

some ideas please

i am a junior getting ready for football in the fall. i am 5ft 8in. i started lifting in december at 170lbs, bench 185, squat 300, and deadlift 385. yesterday was maxout day for football. i weighed in at 185, benched 265, squated 385 and deadlift 460(hexbar its what coach makes us use). those are good gains but at february maxout i was 180 benched 245, squated 375 and dwadlift 445. what can i do to expidite my gains, i cant/wont use to intense sups because of highschool sports rule. i am on right now a mas gainer only
    http://anabolicminds.com/forum/training-forum/198788-highschool-athlete-thread.html

2. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'11"  235 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    57.95%

You'll want to try what Joe DeFranco calls Westside for Skinny Bastards.

Westside is the conjugate method, which is used by the strongest powerlifters in the world. It has been said the best way to train for overall performance is dynamic, repetition and maximum effort work.

Repetition effort builds muscular endurance, dynamic effort builds muscular speed strength/power and maximum effort builds muscular strength.

The routine you'll want to use is as follows.

MONDAYMax-Effort Upper Body
    TUESDAYDynamic-Effort Lower Body
    WEDNESDAY – Off
    THURSDAYRepetition Upper Body
    FRIDAYMax-Effort Lower Body
    SATURDAY – Off
    SUNDAYOff

MONDAY – Max-Effort Upper Body
    1. Max-Effort Exercise – work up to a max set of 3-5 reps in one of the following exercises:

• Thick bar or regular barbell bench press
    • Barbell floor press
    • Rack lockouts / Suspended chain lockouts
    • Incline barbell bench press (regular grip or close grip)
    • Close-grip bench press (index finger on smooth part of bar)
    • Weighted chin-ups
    • Board presses or foam presses
    • Chain bench press (*recommended for not-so-skinny bastards)