How does a stressful day sabotage your lifts?

BigVrunga

BigVrunga

Awards
  • Established
I worked an 11 hour day today, nearly all of that time on my feet. Im a restaurant manager, so I was dealing with all the stresses of that, didnt get to eat too much, etc. On top of that, hadnt been to the gym in 4 days because of work.
So anyway, I went to the gym tonight after work and prepared to do some squats. Usually, even on a day when Im just going light Ill do sets of 315x10. Tonight, 225 felt like a damn truck!! Seriously, I could barely make it out of the hole by my 3rd set.

I managed to refocus myself with some well placed death-metal and come back decent by the end of my workout. I know that stress,etc can mess up your training...

My question is what exactly is going on chemically in the body to cause a near 100lb drop in my squat?!

BV

Matthew D

Awards
  • Established
more than likely it is fatigue due to adreniline being secreated over the day.. which in turn causes the crappy workout..

hypo

hypo

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
maybe your leg muscles were just fatigued from running around all day?

supersoldier

supersoldier

She thinks my traps'rrrr sexy!
Awards
  • Established
I started a thread very similar to this. Only I work nights, so I sleep all day, wake up, eat, take supps, ect., then train about 2-3 hours after waking. I can see if you work 11 hours and have stress all day at work, being physically and mentally taxed when you try to train afterwards. But my whole work/eat/sleep/train schedule is basically the same day in and day out.

Damn it's getting late (early), I don't even know what point I'm trying to make anymore. :think: :D

DmitryWI

DmitryWI

I know nothing...
Awards
  • Established
I worked an 11 hour day today, nearly all of that time on my feet. Im a restaurant manager, so I was dealing with all the stresses of that, didnt get to eat too much, etc. On top of that, hadnt been to the gym in 4 days because of work.