Stagnant. Advice please!

scrawnylad

Awards
I'm 180 cm tall, about 73 kg, body fat last checked 3 months ago was 15%, basically, I am scrawny. My target is to gain 5 kg muscle mass and I'll be happy. Don't intend to have huge muscles because I don't have the time to maintain them. I'm a medical student so meal times and hours are very crazy most of the time.

Currently, I am doing early-morning exercises (three days cardio about 30 mins run, three days resistance of about 45 mins) and evening exercises (on resistance days about 45 mins). I'm following Tony Horton's Bring IT program, and top it with some back and chest exercises in the evening of resistance days but not very religiously on the diet because it's kind of difficult to follow that strictly since my schedule and meal times are crazy. I'm a huge bodyweight exercise fan but i don't mind some dumbbells work. Gym is out of the question (no time to travel).

Problems are:
1. I can't gain weight - either not eating enough or not working out enough
2. I find it difficult to concentrate during workouts, any tips?
3. I'm on SciVation 100% whey at least one shake each day.
4. I want to build chest, back, shoulders, arms and legs - everything but I thought I ought to focus one by one?

p.s. Is it possible to build and lose fat at the same time?

Please help! I've gone through so many websites etc and now I'm basically overloaded with information.

SweetLou321

Awards
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
Set a total goal for cals and hit your protein requirements. Im to lazy to convert kg to lb but 1g of protein per lb of bodyweight should be fine for protein. Start at 3000 cals perday. Hit the protein then just fill the rest with carbs and fats, which ever is easiest. Meals times doesnt matter at this point, just make sure to get again, your protein and cals in. If you dont gain lb in a week, add 500 cals to get 3500 and continue till you start gaining weight.