Forced to Lower Volume by Androgens

supersoldier

supersoldier

She thinks my traps'rrrr sexy!
Awards
  • Established
Since dropping Tri-Max and adding M1T to my Sldge Test/1-Test-cyp cycle :whip: , I can hardly make it through a 45 min workout anymore. The few sets I get done are incredibly intense, and far exceed the previous week's workout. I get cartoon character/lat syndrome pumps and after 6-8 sets I have to leave the gym because I can barely move. 45min has been the longest I've worked out in a while now, usually anywhere from 25-40min. I used to train 1hr, no more no less, every session. Yesterday I squatted, and I've been doing sets of 5 for about 4 months or more now, and they've been kinda stagnant as of late. I built up to 335X5 about 4 weeks ago and haven't gone up since. So I dropped it to 275, and hit sets of 12, 10, and then 225X12. I did one set of leg extensions, then did a set of cable side bends (obliques). At this point my lower back was so pumped that I could hardly walk (not to mention the agonizing pain), so I left after only 25min. So here's the question... What should I do (if anything) to compensate for the lower volume (mind you the intensity is unreal, for me)? Should I up the frequency, lift different muscle groups twice a day, or just keep other factors the same and hope that the extra intensity will pay off?

RobInKuwait

RobInKuwait

Awards
  • Established
I think you had the right idea with lowering the weight and raising the volume. I would maybe even think about lowering it a little more to get more sets in. That should let you get your muscles more smoked before they get pumped.

I had the opposite problem on M1T. I normally go to the gym for 45 min of resistance training. On M1T, I'd be in there for like an hour and fifteen minutes and would still want to do more because my muscles still weren't dead. I always end up having to force myself to leave.

Billy the kid

Board Supporter
Awards