Calculating single muscle strength based on compount moves?

gaijininjapan

Awards
  • Established
I have an interesting question that maybe some of you can help me answer.

My friend decided to have this strangth gain contest, and decided to base all the strength gains off of single muscle groups (ie curls, leg ext, leg curl, etc.) The only compound moves are overhead presses and bench.

I was in the middl of the SS program, and then moved to Layne Norton program while on my MDROL cycle. I saw great strength gains, but I was unable to do most of the single muscl group "tests" that were defined by my "I'm an expert because I have a B.S. in physical therapy" friend.

So, I'd like to ask you guys, assuming balanced muscle strength developemnt, what would be an estimated 1RM numbers for the following lifts?

Seated Lat Pull Downs
Seated Military Press
Bicep Curls
Seated Leg Extension
Lying Leg Curls

I currently weigh 80kg, and here are my 1RM numbers calculated from my 5RM with a .857 conversion for 1RM.

Strict form pull-ups 20reps @ BW
Standing overhead press 64kg
Squats to parallel 157kg
preacher curl 35kg

I know this is a lot of speculation, due to muscle strength imbalances, but I figure if I use the same formula for the beginning and end, that it will at least be consistant.

CrazyBassGuy

Awards
Sounds like your friends need a lesson teaching.

How about a strength test based on Squat, Deadlift, Bench Press.

russy_russ

Awards
  • Established