IT Band and squats

D

drinkyboy

Awards
  • Established
After suffering with pain in my leg for years and knowing it was my IT band, I decided to get it checked out. I was diagnosed with iliotibial band syndrom a few months ago by my physical therapist. My question to any one knowledgeable on the subject is does it ever get better? When i first started haveing these pains, i researched it and found stretches and purchased a foam roller, which i have been useing for about 6 yrs. My therapist told me that I seem to know quite a bit about my problem and after a few sessions she told me to keep doing what i have been doing as far as stretches and the roller. It doesnt necessarily hurt while lifting but a couple hours later and im in some real pain!! Im into powerlifting and this seems to hold me back. Any input would be greatly appreciated!!

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Upgrade to PVC pipe instead of a foam roller. Also, look into rolling the piriformis, hip flexor, adductors, and glutes.

D

drinkyboy

Awards
  • Established
Rodja, i appreciate the input. I will look into pvc. Piriformis, hip flexor, adductors and glutes i work on alot with a tennis ball which helps emensly, but will it ever get better or is it going to be my handicap forever? Thank you.

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
It's hard to say whether or not it will continue to plague you. Do you do any kind of mobility drills?

D

drinkyboy

Awards
  • Established
I do mobility stretches, not familiar with drills. stretches i do rf/tfl stretch, x-band walks, cradle and high-knee walks, leg pull-backs, seated 90's, warrior lunges. They have all worked wonders but it just still lingers.

pmiller383

pmiller383

Awards
  • Established
Do you use briefs or do you do all of your lifts raw?

pmiller383

pmiller383

Awards
  • Established