Not gaining strength like I used to

Flaw

Flaw

Awards
  • Established
I've been lifting religiously for about 11 years. The wear and tear on my body is starting to show. I have tons of muscle knots and I work on foam rolling them out all the time. I am forced to keep pretty flexible just so that my muscles get proper activation. I've mainly only trained to build. Bodybuilding you can say. I have very thick/dense muscles and have been able to gain a lot of lean muscle over the years naturally. I'm 5' 11'' weighing in around 222 right now and around 13% body fat. The issue I'm having is even though I build muscle still, I don't gain strength well. I feel that my bench is poor. My 1rep max is probably under or just at my bodyweight. I used to be able to bench much more. I've maxed out at over 310lbs in my early 20's. The time getting there was also much faster. Here's where I'm looking for advice. Is it time that I stop "building" and start a completely different program. Maybe train for power? My programs have always consisted of rep ranges anywhere between 5-20 but it's always been for building. Maybe someone that has been in my shoes can fill in here on some advice. Before you ask about diet or anything else my diet has been solid for many years. So these changes haven't come from diet. If your gonna think hormonal well I had blood work for testosterone 2x this year. Both times back my total t was normal within range and my Free T is actually high. Like I said, I build muscle fine, that's not the issue but all suggestions and advice are welcomed. Thanks.

R1balla

R1balla

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
what up bro. havent spoken with u in a while. big game saturday huh. anyways, have u ever taken a cycle of juice or ph around ur teenage years or early early 20s? im sure you know this already but if so, it can affect how you grow and get stronger later in life by slowing it down. just a thought

Flaw

Flaw

Awards
  • Established