Wrist pain?

smizack

Awards
I've been lifting for about 2 years, and in the last few months my wrists started hurting. I thought it was carpel tunnel for a while because even using a mouse hurt my right one, but I had some time off at christmas time, and it went away almost completely.

Mostly now only the left one seems to hurt, and it's when doing curls with a bar (didn't notice it in the right one last time) but dumbells are fine. And the right one hurt tonight after flat bench, but we did decline and incline and all three on cables after that, and it was (both were) alright.

Nothing else ever bothers me.
And ideas? I've been working my forearms more thinking mabey I've got a weak grip but I don't think that's it.

PC1

Could it be in the grip you're using, either being too wide or too narrow? If your now lifting heavier weight after training 2 years (heavy, relative to you) in such a way that your hand is not plumb or perpendicular to your forearm, that puts more stress on the joint. It doesn't take much of that to begin to experience some of what you're describing.

If that doesn't work, try an e-z curl bar, or if that's what you're using, switch to a straight bar. And if both of those bother you, stick with the dumbells for awhile until they're healed. When you switch back to barbell ease into it.

Good luck

smizack

Awards
Could it be in the grip you're using, either being too wide or too narrow? If your now lifting heavier weight after training 2 years (heavy, relative to you) in such a way that your hand is not plumb or perpendicular to your forearm, that puts more stress on the joint. It doesn't take much of that to begin to experience some of what you're describing.

If that doesn't work, try an e-z curl bar, or if that's what you're using, switch to a straight bar. And if both of those bother you, stick with the dumbells for awhile until they're healed. When you switch back to barbell ease into it.

Good luck