Lifting performance on hot days

soseg

soseg

Awards
  • Established
Ey guys,

the aussie summer is late this year but it arrived today... roughly 100 degrees for all you non-metrics out there (34-35c)... so anyway, I was meant to go gym today expecting to add a couple of pounds to my bench and deadlift today considering the last week or two I had been doing my weight and reps with ease... but due to the weather i figured i'd stay conservative and keep my old weight for another week...thing is once i started lifting i struggled to get the same reps as i did the previous weeks... especially in the dead lifts (doesnt help that you cant grip with sweaty hands)... but even bench and everything else dropped after expecting to add weight... i can only assume its the weather draining you of energy etc

I'm just wondering... for all the other lifters out there on this forum from a slightly warmer climate... do you find you get the same thing on hotter days? say in excess of 90 degrees (30c) or did my lower performance come due to not enough diet the last few days / possible lack of sleep?

If anyone out there knows of any evidence or experience that suggests you do drop performance in hot weather to such an extent then let me know so I can at least expect this during the next few months. It's common knowledge you overheat more, get tired etc but I didnt think it would make your bench reps drop by 20%

that aside it wasnt even that hot... when it hits 120 or so I'm screwed especially with gripping the barbell for deadlifts...

Joshua86

Awards
  • Established
I think a warm environment is the best environment to lift in. Now if it's really hot, that's a different story. I try to avoid the extremes in temperature and humidity.

BettrBdyMitch

BettrBdyMitch

Awards