Another Military Press Question

Emerge

Emerge

Awards
  • Established
Hey, does anyone know the difference in muscle stimulation in military/shoulder press when comparing wide grips and narrow grips? I'm very interested in finding out how I can manipulate my progress by varying my grips.

Jayhawkk

Jayhawkk

Legend
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
FOr the military press I only take a neutral grip. Too wide or narrow and I would feel it in my shoulders/joints and not in a good way. I would suggest taking a grip that allows full motion without pinning your shoulder into an unnatural movement. it's easy to hurt yourself doing these improperly.

Hank Vangut

Hank Vangut

Awards
  • Established
as with all pressing motions......a wider grip will focus more of the load on your chest & shoulder muscles, while a narrower grip will utilize a little more triceps.

Emerge

Emerge

Awards
  • Established
I use a grip that when my arms are parallel to the floor, I have a 90 degree angle between my forearms and my upper arms. It's like a perfect rectangle at the beginning of the movement.

Would that be too wide?

CJPopovich

Awards
  • Established
I used to do all of my overhead barbell pressing with a pinky on the rings grip, however, I recently switched to a slightly closer grip (thumbs from smooth, about 1" per side closer), and not only do I think it helps my lockout more, it is much easier on the shoulders. Don't worry, the shoulders still get plenty of work.

onimusha

Awards
On top u shud lock or not lock out? as for tricep i know u shud lock it out to be able to squeze the tricp.

SilentBob187

SilentBob187

Awards
  • Established
On top u shud lock or not lock out? as for tricep i know u shud lock it out to be able to squeze the tricp.
I dunno if it's right or wrong, but I refuse to lock out any joint, ever. To me the risk is too high of something going wrong.

Emerge

Emerge

Awards
  • Established
So everyone agrees military should be done with a narrow grip?