Is this a proper squat technique ?

dragonfly

dragonfly

Awards
  • Established
I would like an opinion on this :

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yha2XAc2qu8&feature=related"]YouTube - Mark Rippetoe: Fixing the Squat: Hip Drive[/ame]

It kind of contradicts what I learned on how to squat properly. Moving the a$$ up before the shoulders...hm, doesn't that sound like a recipe for lower back pain ?! :think:

planetfuzz

planetfuzz

Awards
  • Established
I'm no expert but that sounds horrible. That does sound like a recipe for back pain. The way I learned was to pretend like there is a chair behind you and just barley touch it and drive back up. Had no problems with doing it this way.

Rhyno

Rhyno

Awards
  • Established
There are generally two different styles of squats, olympic and powerlifting. Olympic squats are quad dominant; they utilize a narrow stance, bar high on the shoulders, and usually go to a depth below parallel. On the other hand, squats done in the powerlifting style feature a wider stance and utilize the hip drive that was shown in that vid. However, in that example, the kid seemed to exaggerate this movement a little too much making the lift look awkward. It should be seemless; a vid of a powerlifter squating would probably provide the best example.

dragonfly

dragonfly

Awards
  • Established
However, in that example, the kid seemed to exaggerate this movement a little too much making the lift look awkward. It should be seemless; a vid of a powerlifter squating would probably provide the best example.

I thought that the movement was exaggerated as well, perhaps Rippetoe should have demonstrated how it was meant to be executed.

firefighter2032

firefighter2032

Awards
  • Established
I was over at the HST forums the other day asking about the Rippetoe squats and here is part of the response I got. The youtube video is not of me but of an example someone else gave and the comments on the video follows.