Best protein powder during Keto

L

lukinosnake

Awards
  • Established
Hi Guys, my fiancee and I are about to start our Keto diet before our wedding on 1st September.

I was wondering which kind of protein powder do you normally use post workout during keto in order to do not spike insulin too much. I was looking into vegan proteins or blends as I know pure whey do spike insulin a lot.

Any suggestion?

Juicedeez utz

Juicedeez utz

Awards
  • Established
Congrats on the wedding!

All proteins containing BCAA, specifically leucine, will spike your insulin, honestly it's nothing to worry about! I've been doing Keto for nearly 9 months now and have never been affected by it, it'll shuttle the nutrients and drop pretty quick, it's only in the presence of breaking down carbs the spike take longer to settle! So as long as you're sticking to 20g NET carbs you'll be fine.
I personally use PES select or dedicated nutritions fusion pro, blends are much better than just whey but if you wanted to not add any carbs from the powders, go with an isolate :)

L

lukinosnake

Awards
  • Established
Congrats on the wedding!

All proteins containing BCAA, specifically leucine, will spike your insulin, honestly it's nothing to worry about! I've been doing Keto for nearly 9 months now and have never been affected by it, it'll shuttle the nutrients and drop pretty quick, it's only in the presence of breaking down carbs the spike take longer to settle! So as long as you're sticking to 20g NET carbs you'll be fine.
I personally use PES select or dedicated nutritions fusion pro, blends are much better than just whey but if you wanted to not add any carbs from the powders, go with an isolate :)
Thanks for the feedback! So you have been doing it for 9 months? How do you feel, like it? I was thinking to do 3 months until the wedding at about 2400 kcal, but I am very scared to be shirking

Juicedeez utz

Juicedeez utz

Awards
  • Established