Can switching brands of Protein make a signficant difference to your physique?

TheMaster

TheMaster

Banned
Awards
So all this talk on here about protein lately made me thinking. Can a person actually benefit from switching from one brand to another?

If a person is using a protein with a solid profile you probably wouldn't notice much by changing to another solid brand except the flavor of it. But say a person is using a cheap protein with a bad profile, well switching over to a protein such as PEScience Select or USPlabs Modern Protein would make a much more significant difference.

Your thoughts on this please.

sareea

Awards
Even though I am a newbie, I want to share my thought :)
I believe that as long as the source of protein is clean you won't notice any difference. Even with different sources of milk and manufacturers, because it goes into microfiltration/ultra... and the few differences between the sources are diminshed heavily.
This is true as long as you compare 1:1 regarding everything. Blend VS a blend, and in case the both are clean I believe it is the same.

But it is good to note that rotating is not a bad thing, or have the in same time few of different brands is actually good. Because variation is good to the body, in everything :)

Woody

Woody

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
If you are depending on protein powder to meet your protein goals, you have a problem.

muscleupcrohn

muscleupcrohn

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
If you are depending on protein powder to meet your protein goals, you have a problem.
I guess it depends on how high your protein goals are though. 1g/lb is doable without powder for sure, but some people prefer closer to 2g/lb (not saying I'd recommend it for everyone), which is harder to get from whole foods.

ma70

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
It only makes a difference if you get all of your protein from protein powder, which is bad.

TheMaster

TheMaster

Banned