Ca-HMB observations after 1 week (+ strength, lbm.?, -bodyfat)

Justlooking5

Justlooking5

Awards
I got some Ca-HMB Monday from a reputable bulk powder supplier and decided to give it a try to help with my current 5 week cutting phase where I'm eating reduced calories (~2,000) with a high protein, mod carb/mod fat diet.

I've been training for about 16 years (age 33) though resumed bodybuilding about 1 year ago. I'm pretty familiar with supps as well as gear, though I haven't done gear since 2006. I weigh about 221 lbs. right now with arms at touch over 17" pumped during this low glycogen phase.

Anyway, I started Ca-HMB at 3g/day Monday and increased to 8g/day with my first workout today (Sunday). After initially starting Monday I noticed increased muscle fullness and a better pump, and after 2-3 days I began to see increased midsection definition, including more serratus definition which has been difficult for me to achieve. It was pretty evident that I was losing midsection bodyfat (or at least water).

Today was my first day weight training since starting Monday, and I noticed some pretty impressive results:

One week ago (Sunday 2/14) I did flat bench with 210 x 6 reps, and felt the effects of lower glycogen.

Today (after a week on Ca-HMB) I noticed the weights were moving easier, and I was able to fairly easily do on incline bench 210 x 8. Which is an addition of 5 lbs. and 2 reps simultaenously compared to my prior incline bench workout.

I continued to have solid strength on all my other exercises, maintaining dumbbell shoulder presses 70s x 5, and feeling strong on several new exercises I switched to this week (so no comparison point).

The bench press results however are pretty impressive to me. It has been kind of difficult for me to move from 205 to 225 for solid reps on the incline, yet today, despite being on low carbs/calories and clearly leaner, I was able to complete 8 smooth reps with 210.